Pinoy Daily Talk

Blogging just about anything under the Sun!

Justice for the Parañaque Shootout Victims

with 19 comments

Last December of 2008, a father and his daughter were among the victims of a shootout between the Philippine National Police and suspected robbers.

According to abs-cbnnews.com, Alfonso de Vera and daughter Lea Alyanna were on board their Isuzu Crosswind when they were intercepted by policemen along Sampaguita Street in the United Parañaque Subdivision IV in Sucat district.

A witness said Philippine National Police-Special Action Force (PNP-SAF) members trained their guns and opened fire on de Vera even after he alighted from the vehicle.

“Nakita ko, nakita ko niratrat nalang ‘yung sasakyan ng mga operatives ng SAF kahit lumabas na si Alfonso ng sasakyan, pinagbabaril pa rin.’ Di tinigilan hangang mamatay s’ya nang nakaluhod,” said the witness.

Lately,  an email was circulating  about the feelings and emotions of being the wife and  the mother of the victims. Lets try to determine and analyze her ordeals now that her loved ones has passed away. And to think that they were killed by those people who were suppose to protect them from bad elements…

Here is the email…

Two months ago I considered myself as one of those blessed and happiest people on earth. Why not? I married a guy who was an epitome of kindness. A guy who worshipped even the footsteps I made. More importantly, our union blessed us with a daughter who not only became the main source of our happiness….more so; she was the center of our lives.

We’re simple folks who led a simple life. We felt the happiest even about mundane things and inconsequential ones that most people would only take for granted. Our joy mostly revolved on simple pleasure like a sudden trip to Jollibee or a late night marauding of the fridge for any leftovers. A perfect family with simple delights, dreams and aspirations………until that fateful night on December 5, 2008 . The day my husband and daughter were taken away from me in a very violent way. That Friday night on December 5, 2008 marked the beginning of all the terror, anguish and misery in my life.

In keeping with my ritual or “panata” on every first Friday of every month, I went to Quiapo Church on the above mentioned date to pay homage and respect to the Almighty One. My husband and daughter were supposed to pick me up in Pasay City after which we planned on giving our daughter a treat to Jollibee. While riding the jeep, I tried to call my husband to tell him that I’m on my way to our meeting place. But despite all the calls I made, my husband remained silent. A very unusual occurrence inasmuch as he seldom missed my calls. Despite my trepidation and wonder, I took the next jeep going home and prayed that everything was alright. I even promised to myself that I will forgive my husband for not answering my calls and for forgetting to pick me up.

I felt relieved when near our place my phone rung. Such relief was somehow only momentary….in fact the phone call I got was the bearer of the worst news in my entire life. My helper called, only to tell me that my husband and daughter were shot to death by “men in uniform”. The same men who were sworned to protect innocent people from bad guys brutally slained the two most important persons in my life. They were the same men whose sacred duty was to preserve the lives of the public against all harm and danger. Yet…….they were the same men who murdered my love ones in the most cruel, savage and inhuman way.

My husband’s face was unrecognizable because he was shot in the head at close range while he was kneeling with his head bowed down. My daughter’s young body was riddled with bullets, one hit her head, blowing her brains out., all from too powerful guns and ammunitions fired by the “men in uniform” to two innocent and defenseless persons.

The “men in uniform” were allegedly on a mission to take some gang of robbers victimizing people at large. The police shot the crosswind van my husband and daughter were riding Based on some witnesses’ narration, the police sprayed bullets into the van despite the lack of provocation or shots coming from the crosswind van. In his last effort to save their lives, my husband grabbed my bloodied daughter and shielded her with his body while trying to run away from the police and tried to get cover from a parked jeepney My husband and daughter were so defenseless. How can you mistake a child for a robber? How can you shot at someone who was already kneeling with head bowed, an indication of helplessness.

My husband and daughter are gone…….forever. The pains I feel for their lost is too much too bear. And the only thing that motivates me to go on with life is the mission to seek justice for their senseless killing. If the people who were responsible for their death will be punished, if I could bring them the justice they so richly deserve, my pains would be alleviated. The misery I will live by will be lessened. My husband and daughter will be vindicated and I will learn to live the remaining years of my life in peace.

Thus: I’m asking and begging everyone who will come across this letter/e-mail to forward the same to all your relatives, friends, and acquaintances. Help me bring my cause to the eyes of the people capable of steering the wheel of justice to the right direction. Help me make the loudest cry worthy of attention by those people in-charge in rendering justice to those who deserve it.

Strength comes in numbers; it is where the impossible becomes possible. It is also where the unattainable becomes achievable.

My heartfelt gratitude for everyone who will take a moment in their too busy lives and forward this letter/e-mail to everyone they know. May God always protect you and your love ones from all harm.

~ Lilian de Vera

If it happens to you, what would you feel?

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indescribable. Unforgivable.

    To Lilian, no words are enough to fill the empty space in your heart. No amount of money is enough to compensate this tragedy. May you find peace in justice. God bless you.

    Cora Mina

    March 12, 2009 at 7:07 pm

  2. we will offer a pray for yourloved ones especially your angel whose in the arms of the Lord now..PNP should educate and should be punished as what they deserved beacuse they are same police who killed the innocent in ortigas.

    Diana

    March 18, 2009 at 5:33 am

  3. As much as I want all criminals to be “terminated”, I can’t help but condemed the authority for this despicable act.
    My heartfelt sympathy to Lilian. May God strengthen you in this very difficult time.

    Ferdinand

    March 18, 2009 at 5:45 am

  4. My heartfelt sympathy on your loss, Lilian. I pray to God that you will find love in your memories and you also find peace in God’s spirit. May the Lord God bless and keep you and eternal rest to your husband and daughter.

    GIR

    March 18, 2009 at 7:06 am

  5. Philippine politicians, the pilipino justice system and pilipino police and the army seems to run the Philippine governmant like a Mafia. I wonder where and how the pilipino people get protection from these maggots.
    My prayers to Lilian for peace and comfort !!

    Ferdinand

    March 18, 2009 at 7:59 am

  6. For he who avenges murder cares for the helpless. He does not ignore those who cry to him for help.
    Psalm 9:12

    leila

    March 18, 2009 at 5:33 pm

  7. Most of the Policemen misused their Authority….to protect the weak? Malabo yan… To protect the rich…cguro! Sana makulong ang mga
    unggoy na yan.

    …hope there is justice for her husband and daughter. God Bless you.

    Bhudo Khan

    March 18, 2009 at 8:40 pm

  8. I know and can feel the pain you are undergoing i understand what it is to lose a loved one…I will pray to Almighty God to give you the peace you are looking for.Forgive the men in uniform who did this.Pray below prayer.

    Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort.
    II Corinthians 1 : 3

    My precious Lord!

    I come to You with a broken heart. I am unable to accept this sudden loss of my precious one Lord! I feel utterly lost and terribly lonely! There is none to comfort me beside You. I turn to You Lord and shed my tears at Your feet.

    Lord You shed tears when Lazarus died and You know the anguish of a bereaved soul. You have promised to comfort me and be with me when I walk through the valley of tears and sorrow. Be with me O Lord, and engulf me with Your comforting presence. Even now as I cry to You and wash Your feet with my tears, console me just as a mother would and wipe away my tears. Let my anguished soul find rest in You, Master! O, Lord please embrace me and surround me with Your strength and comfort. I lean upon Your bosom Lord! You have said, “I will dwell in them and walk among them. I will be their God, and they shall be My people.” Lord, please be a Father to me and lead me. Let the peace which surpasseth all understanding descend upon me. Be with me Lord; strengthen my hands and set my foot on high with all humility I offer this prayer in Jesus name.

    Amen.

    Ann Mohan

    March 19, 2009 at 1:06 am

  9. I also felt the same pain you are trying to endure Lilian as i was reading your whole story. I hope and pray that the anguish that devour your life will turn into peace and the justice due to your loveones will be rendered..in God’s time.

    guwi

    March 19, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  10. it is very frightening to realize that nobody is safe in the streets of metro manila, or the entire philippines for that matter, because the police are the criminals. especially since this is not the first time that this has happened, and certainly will not be the last. yet who can punish the perpetrators when they are the law themselves? but this does not mean that the De Vera father and daughter’s death is in vain. Lilian’s heart is in the right place, to call on us fellow citizens not only to sympathize and commiserate, but to work for justice. she did not call out strength in numbers to cry with her, but to participate in the quest so that justice will finally prevail. so many incidents of police brutality has occurred, when is it time to correct your ways, philippine police? when will you stop whitewalling and admit your mistakes, and truly amend your systems, policies, procedures, and men themselves. punish the guilty, make reparations to the families of the victims, ask for the country’s forgiveness, and never make the same mistake ever again. or else.

    jeremy caji

    March 23, 2009 at 2:22 pm

  11. Hi Lilian,

    We are from Hustisya. Hustisya is the organization founded by the victims and families of victims of human rights violations in the country. We also work closely with Karapatan, a non governmental ngo that advocates human rights.

    Many of our members here in Manila and other parts of the country are from families of victims of extra-judicial killings and enforced disappearances. We have members who witnessed their parents killed, eyes plucked out by state forces, mostly the military. And like you, they have not attained yet attained justice, not one of the 1000+ victims of extra judicial killings and the 200 victims of enforced disappearances, just like the case of Jonas Burgos and the two UP Students.

    I hope you can visit us sometime here in our office. You can call us at 4342837.

    Walkie

    March 24, 2009 at 8:13 pm

  12. My tears fall upon reading what happened to your family. I am with you in spirit. I can only say prayers that God will extend His arms to you to comfort you and give you peace. GOD BLESS U LILIAN.

    JOEL S. VALMORES

    March 26, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  13. Our country is not really safe. Because even the POLICE are KILLERS!It’s sad to know that your loved ones were victims of these MEN in UNIFORM…

    I pray that justice will be served and justice would be fair.

    Emmanuel

    April 3, 2009 at 9:30 pm

  14. Mukhang another whitewash na naman but I still pray that justice and not injustice will finally come to your loved ones no matter how delayed. I am temporarily abroad but everytime I come home I can’t help but notice how our men in uniform competely disregard laws they are supposed to enfoce.
    Our prayers will always be with you and our beloved country.

    Chito

    April 9, 2009 at 4:45 am

  15. hay when ever i hear the news kumukulo dugo ko sa mga walang kwenta at bobong poilice kaka bwisit. ill pray for your husband and daughter lilian.

    kent

    April 14, 2009 at 6:21 am

  16. Every time I hear news or stories about this I ask myself what is happening to our country. The government that should protect its people is the one who is killing its citizens. This is not only about the incompetent policemen. It’s also about the corrupt government officials who are not doing anything for the welfare of it’s people but busy in corruption. For them money is more important than lives. I hope God will be mercy to us and save our country from these corrupt officials.

    Vlad

    May 9, 2009 at 4:22 am

  17. its really hard Lilian ,i envy your strong personality… seek God and he will give you peace…

    jeffrey

    May 13, 2009 at 10:19 am

  18. I am so sorry for the tragic and unjust death of your husband and daughter. No one deserves that even “criminals”! I believe in karma and those perpetrators will reap (sooner or later) what they did..especially the masterminds and “authorities” who sanction such atrocities! Believe in God… He said “vengeance is mine, I will avenge, saith the Lord” – Claim this: you and your loved ones will be avenged! Be strong, God will sustain you and will provide ways and means for this to come to pass. Kleng

    kleng

    June 26, 2009 at 6:29 am

  19. Be strong Mam…

    Tammy

    May 2, 2011 at 4:42 pm


Leave a Reply

